Share
.vc_custom_1562054251500{background-color: #347c22 !important;}

英國寄宿學校常見問題 – 11+ 13+, ISEB入學準備試, 以及獎學金問題

有關ISEB 入學準備試的常見問題 一 更新!

 

那些學校要求提供ISEB入學準備試?

 

名單在增加! 按此查閱

一些學校如Eton, Winchester, Charterhouse 和 Wellington會在學校面試前要求你的孩子提供ISEB入學準備試成績。其他學校例如Benenden, 會要求ISEB入學準備試後, 再進行學校的入學評估。詳細請參閱學校網站內的入學頁面。

1: 我要怎麼報名ISEB 入學準備試?

當你向英國學校報名時, 而你的孩子進入適當的年份, 學校便會要求提供ISEB入學準備試成績。

2: 我應該在那裡考試?

當然是Brandon! 通知英國那邊的學校, 你將會在Brandon應試, 然後學校那邊會發出考試編號給我們。

3: 何時考試?

你的報名學校會給你一段時間來進行這個考試, 一些學校會有比較早的截止日期。你需要查詢清楚!

4: 那麼入學準備試包括甚麼?

這個考試將以線上形式進行, 並包括以下四個範疇:

數學 (50分鐘)

英文 (25分鐘)

非語言推理 (32分鐘)

語言推理 (36分鐘)

5: 合格分數是多少?

這是沒有合格和不合格分數的; 學校會使用入學準備試來評估你孩子的入學程序, 這是入學申請的其中一項評估。

6: 我可以查看成績嗎?

不可以 – 成績會直接送到學校, 以及不會向家長披露! 這個系統有趣的地方是, 你的孩子不用受考試困擾, 只需要考一個試, 然後申請多間學校。

7: 我的孩子在考試期間會有休息時間嗎?

學生可以在完成一份試卷後, 並在下一份試卷前休息, 不過一旦開始考試, 便不能暫停及反回已完成的部分。

8: 我可以將考試分開幾天來應考嗎?

可以。有些學校會要求一次過完成四個部分的考試。在Brandon, 我們明白學生們已經非常緊張, 所以學生們可以分開幾天來應試。

9: 在考試中, 學生知道他們多少時間應試嗎?

倒數計時器會置於螢幕的上方, 另外在螢幕底部會有編號顯示考生正在作答那一個題目, 還有多少問題需要作答。

10: 這是不是一個要求速度的考試?

並不是完全這樣。這是有計時的, 但最快完成並沒有任何獎品! 因此我們建議學生盡量放鬆心情, 並準確回答問題, 多於以速度來完成考試。

11: 我的孩子有讀寫困難, 那會有額外時間嗎?

校方的確為特殊教育需要的學童提供額外時間。你需要向校方提交相關報告。也有一些學校會考慮為不是英語為母語的學生增加考試時間。如有任何疑問, 可以向有意向的學校咨詢。

12: 學校會如何使用這個成績?

每間學校都使用入學準備試的成績作為評估的其中一部分。其他可能被考慮的方面包括學校推薦信、報告和課外活動。

“我的朋友說 ISEB入學準備試的合格分數是⋯⋯” 以及其他遙傳!

如果您的孩子剛剛參加了伊頓公學 (Eton)、溫徹斯特 (Winchester)、湯布里奇 (Tonbridge)、查特豪斯 (Charterhouse)、惠靈頓 (Wellington)、克蘭利 (Cranleigh)、聖保羅 (St Paul’s)(繼續其他學校,請參閱此處的列表!)的一部分的 ISEB 預測試,那麼您很可能會被一堆錯誤信息包圍。 所以我們列舉了一些經常被遙傳的錯誤訊息……

1: 這是有合格分數的……

不是……真的沒有。 學校將入學試與學校報告、參考資料和其他資料一起作為申請流程的一部分。 大多數學校會將所獲得的資料應用在一個範圍,這可能會根據他們的入學人數而加減。

根據經驗:一些教學節奏快、注重學業成績的學校(例如 St Paul’s)將選擇他們名單中的最好的考生。 一些擁有很好的援助和廣泛招生的學校(例如 Stowe)將使用更廣泛的衡量標準。

2: 某某獲得了100分……

學校並不會公佈這個入學試的成績……

3: 某某考了這個試兩次…….

除非發生嚴重的事件,否則他們不會在同一個學年裡應試兩次! 每位考生只可以在一個學年參加一次考試,而所有使用入學試的學校都可以查看您孩子的成績。

每個學校都有自己的截止日期,不過一旦您參加了最早截止日期的考試,這個學年就是這一次。

有些學校的第七學年 (Y7) 入學申請有很遲的截止日期(例如Charterhouse),因此您的孩子可能會在 Y7 再次參加 ISEB 入學準備試,不過這是不同類別的問題。

 

溫徹斯特 (Winchester) 面試邀請已經公佈,我們注意到了今年使用 PreQuest 的學生取得了出色的成績。 如果您已使用了 PreQuest 並進行了 Pretest 級別的所有材料,您將會在面試評估中處於良好狀態。 如果您想知道 ISEB Pretest 的內容,請觀看我們的一些視頻…

你想為你的孩子選擇哪一所學校?

 

根據我們最近的舉辦的講座,這些是家長們提出的熱門問題:

 

– 現在開始準備是否太早?

 

不會的! 作為家長,請思考你可以為孩子選擇甚麼類型的探索,並確定那些關鍵日期。你的計劃或者會改變,但這樣你就能保持大門敞開。

 

– 我們何時需要選擇學校?

 

注意截止日期。許多收生嚴謹的13+ 學校,包括 Eton 和 Winchester,現在在六年級進行考試,並在五年級完成註冊。對於11+ 學校,你需要更早的考慮! Brandon提供全面的諮詢服務,以幫助你向著目標的道路前進。

 

– 我們應該選擇男女同校還是單性別學校?

 

選擇學校的出發點, 永遠是先了解你的孩子。第二步才是真正了解學校所提供的東西。開放日(甚至是網絡的開放日!)是一個很好的機會,可以看到學生在你所選擇的學校裡的表現。你可能還想問一下寄宿生的比例、週末活動和學校的導師制度,以了解全面情況。我的建議是,在排除可能的選擇之前,盡量保持開放的心態,親自去看看。

 

– 如何參加和準備學校的預考(包括ISEB入學試)和11+/13+ 入學考試?

 

在線ISEB入學試通常在第六年級進行,內容包括英語、數學、語言和非言語推理,香港考生需自行報名參加。我們已經開發了一個在線練習工具(www.pre-quest.com),可以讓你充分準備ISEB入學試。我們的ISEB課程也很受歡迎,學生成績不言而喻。與任何考試一樣,你對考試內容越熟悉,考試過程就越容易。

 

您或您的當地學校將為您的孩子報名參加11+/13+ 普通入學考試。請向您的當地學校查詢,校方會告訴您需要參加哪些試卷以及何時參加。在大多數的情況下,女子學校和男女混合學校在春季考試,男子學校在夏季考試。有些學校(如Tonbridge)對海外學生有不同的試卷和時間安排。

 

– 我的孩子可以獲得學術獎學金嗎?

 

您的孩子在學術上是否有好奇心和動力?請向您的預備學校或小學諮詢,他們可以提供建議。女校(如Benenden或Downe House)會在入學試後邀請女孩嘗試申請學術獎學金。每年,我們都會為男生們開設 Winchester或 Eton的獎學金準備課程。課程可是非常嚴格的,真正能夠啟發思考和主動學習的學生, 來擴展其知識的深度和闊度, 通過獎學金的申請, 從而茁壯成長。

 

如果有任何問題,或者想得到有針對性的建議,請預約Dr. Jessica諮詢。

HTML Snippets Powered By : XYZScripts.com

Share
.vc_custom_1562054251500{background-color: #347c22 !important;}

British Boarding school FAQs, ISEB pretests and scholarships

Our Top TWELVE FAQs from parents about the ISEB Pretest – updated!

 

Which schools ask for the ISEB pretest?

 

The list has grown! Check here:

Schools like Eton, Winchester, Charterhouse and Wellington will ask your child to sit the ISEB Pre-test ahead of inviting them for an interview. Other schools such as Benenden will ask for the test in addition to their assessment day. Check the admissions pages of the school websites.

1: How do I enter for the ISEB pretest?

Once you have registered with your senior schools, they will enter your child once the appropriate year comes around.

2: Where do I take the test?

Brandon, of course! Notify your senior school that you are taking the test with us and they will send us test codes.

3: When do I take the test?

Your school will give you a window during which the test must be taken. Some schools have early deadlines. You need to check!

4: So what does the pre-test consist of?

The test is taken online and there are four sections:

Maths (50 mins)
English (25 mins)
Non-Verbal reasoning (32 mins)
Verbal reasoning (36 mins)

5: What is the pass mark?

There is no pass or fail mark; schools will use the pretest as part of your application package.

6: Can I see the results?

No – Results go straight to the school(s) and will not be shared with parents! One of the joys of this system is that your beleaguered son or daughter will not have to sit numerous tests: one test can be sent to multiple schools.

7: Can my child take a break during the test?

Students may take breaks between sections but, once started, the test cannot be paused.

8: Can we spread the test over a few days?

Yes. Some schools ask students to take the four sections at the same time. At Brandon, we recognize that our students are already over stretched so you can spread your test out.

9: During the test, how do they know how much them they have?

A timer at the top of the screen shows the student how much time remains and there is an indicator at the bottom of the screen showing which question number the student is on and how many he/she has left to answer.

10: Is it a speed test?

Not really. There are timings but there are no prizes for finishing first! We recommend that our students pace themselves and aim for accuracy rather than racing though the questions.

11: My child has SEN, can they get extra time?

Schools do have the option to allow students with SEN requirements to have extra time. You will need to send over your latest report from your Educational Psychologist. Some schools will also consider adding extra time for EAL students. If in doubt, check with your senior school.

12: How do schools use the results?

Each school uses the results as one part of your application package. Other areas which may be considered include school references, reports and extra-curricular activities.

“My friend says that the ISEB Pretest pass mark is … ” and other myths!

If your child has just taken the ISEB Pre-test as part of their Eton, Winchester, Tonbridge, Charterhouse, Wellington, Cranleigh, St Paul’s (continue ad infinitum, see the list here!) then you may well be surrounded by a fog of panic and misinformation. So here we go, the top myths…

1: There is a pass mark of X……

No… there really isn’t. Schools use the Pre-Test as part of their application process in conjunction with school reports, references and additional information. Most schools will apply a range to the results they receive from their cohort which may be broader or narrower depending on their intake. 

As a rule of thumb: a school with fast-paced teaching and highly academic focus (such as St Paul’s), will take the top end of their cohort. A school with excellent support and a broader intake (e.g. Stowe), will use a wider measure.

2: So and so scored 100%…

The scores of the test are not released by schools…

3: So and so took the test twice…

Not in one academic year they didn’t unless serious trickery was going on! The test may be taken once per candidate in an academic year and all schools who use the Pretest can access your child’s results.

Each school sets their own deadlines but once you have taken the test for your earliest deadline, that is it. 

Some schools have late Y7 applications (e.g. Charterhouse) so it is possible that your child might take the ISEB Pretest again in Y7 but it will be a different set of questions.

Now that the Winchester interview invitations have been issued, we’ve noted brilliant results from the students who used PreQuest this year.   If you cover all the material in Pretest level, you will be in good shape for the assessments. If you are wondering what is on the ISEB Pretest, have a look at some of our videos… 

Which school do you want for YOUR child? 

Eton, Winchester, Wycombe Abbey, CLC …?



Based on our recent seminars, these are the top questions from our parents!

– Is it ever too early to start preparation?

No! As parents, think about what options you may explore for your child and identify different key dates. Your plans may change but this way you are keeping doors open.

– When do we need to choose schools?

Watch out for deadlines. Many highly selective 13+ schools including Eton and Winchester now test in Y6 and close registration in Y5. For 11+ schools, you need to be thinking even earlier! Brandon offers a full consultancy service to help you along your path.

– Should we look at co-ed or single sex schools?

The starting point in school selection is always understanding your child. The second step is to really understand what the school is offering. Open days (even virtual ones!) are a good opportunity to see how students act within your chosen school. You might also want to ask about boarding ratios, weekend activities and the school’s tutor system to get a full picture. My suggestion is to be as open minded as you can and see for yourself before ruling out possible options.

– How do we enter and prepare for school pre-tests (including the ISEB pre-test) and 11+/13+ entrance examinations?

The online ISEB Pretest is usually taken in Y6 and covers English, maths, verbal and non-verbal reasoning and candidates are entered by their senior schools.  We have developed an online practice tool (www.pre-quest.com) which will give you full preparation for the ISEB Pretest.  Our classes are always popular and the results really do speak for themselves. As with any exam, the more familiar you are with the contents, the easier the process becomes.

You or your prep school will enter your child for 11+/13+ Common Entrance. Check with your senior school who will tell you which papers you need to take and when. Typically, girls’ and co-ed schools test in the spring and boys’ schools in the summer. Some schools (such as Tonbridge) have different papers and timings for overseas students. 

– Is my child suitable for academic scholarships?

Is he or she academically curious and driven? Speak to your prep or primary school who can advise. Girls schools (such as Benenden or Downe House) will invite girls to try for academic scholarships following testing. Every year, we prepare boys for Election at Winchester or King’s Scholarship at Eton. The preparation is rigorous and students who are genuinely inspired to learn thrive through exposure to the depth and breadth which a scholarship application entails.

If you have specific questions or would like tailored advice, ask about a consultancy appointment with Dr Jessica.

HTML Snippets Powered By : XYZScripts.com