Share
.vc_custom_1634282323959{background-color: #347c22 !important;}

溫徹斯特公學

溫徹斯特公學講座 – 與招生辦負責人會面

學校類型

男校, 高中

學校的語言

溫徹斯特是一個神奇的地方,有自己的詞彙,被稱為“概念”。 大多數仍然使用的概念與學校的具體活動有關,但比較通用,例如,“goive” 近似於 “隨便”!

學校位置

溫徹斯特, 漢普郡, 英國

課程設置

男生在低年級學習IGCSE課程,在六年級學習Pre-U課程。

分配: 整個溫徹斯特學校採取獨特的自由研究課程。在低年級,男孩們探索熱愛領域,包括歷史,利用溫徹斯特檔案館和沃頓馬厩博物館;藝術,參加肯尼斯-克拉克獎;以及探索哲學和文學思想。在六年級,男孩們探索哲學、經濟學、藝術史、音樂……任何可能激發他們靈感的東西。

學生人數

685 學生

科慧的觀點

對於聰明、好奇心強的男孩來說,溫徹斯特公學是一個不錯的選擇。中世紀的校園非常漂亮,教學也很有啟發性。除了房屋和學校戲劇、房屋音樂比賽、藝術展示和來訪政要的講座外,還有30種不同的體育活動;每個人都能從中受益。

案例研究:在溫徹斯特學習

這是對 P 的訪問,他在 9 歲時加入了科慧學習中心,並在溫徹斯特學校取得了學位。

請輸入標題

1: 在溫徹斯特學校和在香港上學的最大不同是甚麼?

 

我覺得在溫徹斯特的老師能讓我更有動力去探索和發掘有興趣的事情,不論在課室或是在課外活動裡。雖然自己研究和實踐學習好像有點艱鉅,但是在寄宿裡的學校舍監都是真正的老師,因此向他們發問關於功課和好奇的東西變得非常的方便。在溫徹斯特的學習比較多討論方式 (類似大學),使我在課堂會被鼓勵發問並分享自己的想法。有時候聆聽朋友們的想法都能讓我學習更多,讓學習變得不平凡。

請輸入標題

2: 你會給第一次寄宿的人甚麼建議?

 

不要害怕走出你的舒適圈。在溫徹斯特,我有機會嘗試許多我不知道自己喜歡的新活動,如越野跑、網球和田徑。你越是願意邁出第一步,你會越快發現自己真正喜歡做甚麼。

請輸入標題

3: 在英國學習有甚麼讓你驚喜嗎?

 

很多很多。在食物方面需要一點時間習慣。在剛剛到埗時那些英式的方言確實讓我很迷惘。還有,我有更多的自由和空間去做我想做的事情。

請輸入標題

4. 你去美國後經歷了哪些變化?

 

也許更多的是大學的事情,但肯定的是我在紐約大學期間變得更獨立。這部分是因為不像在溫徹斯特,我的舍監總是看著我,在大學裡真的沒有人監督你或告訴你該怎麼做。我在美國的時間從來都不無聊,因為我已經逐漸變得自我激勵,這反過來讓我能夠主動嘗試我想做的事情。

請輸入標題

5: 你在英國的學習為你在美國的生活做好準備嗎?

 

我認為在英國的寄宿學校學習使我在認識新朋友時更加自信,並教會我如何更好地與周圍的人交流。我也比在溫徹斯特學習之前更加外向和善於交際,因為我已經適應了走出自己的舒適圈和探索新事物的想法。

P 在科慧學習中心上的課......

Y5

請輸入標題

  • 英語演說
  • 英制英文和數學

Y6

請輸入標題

  • 面試準備班
  • 英制英文和數學
  • 法文

Y7

請輸入標題

  • 英制英文、數學和科學
  • 法文

Y8

請輸入標題

  • 英制英文、數學和科學
  • 人文學
  • 論文寫作技巧
  • 法文

溫徹斯特公學

這篇文章是基於與溫徹斯特公學 (Winchester College) 註冊部不定期會面之一部分。

Brandon科慧教育中心拜訪了溫徹斯特公學教務長安德魯·謝登先生。溫徹斯特大學是一所卓越的英國寄宿學校,在過去的五年中,我(Dr. Jessica)很幸運能被邀請與校方對話。

總結安德魯·謝登先生的一些重點:

誰適合在溫徹斯特公學 (Winchester College) 茁壯成長?
對學術好奇,樂於助人的男孩們並願意突破固有框架思考。

溫徹斯特公學 (Winchester College) 如何選擇學生?
第一階段是ISEB測試。如果您的兒子在ISEB測試中表現良好,我們將邀請他參加學校面試,在此期間,他有機會接受語言、非語言和邏輯測試,並要求提供學校成績作參考。

溫徹斯特公學 (Winchester College) 的面試是什麼樣的?
這使我感到驚奇!面試的目的是試圖弄清楚是什麼使男孩們“左右搖擺”。

是不是很有智慧?

男孩們需要被指導去發展其韌性和獨立性,他們應該樂於冒險並學習如何應對失敗。

我們(Brandon)科慧教育中心秉持著這樣的理念:我們都會在人生的某個時刻失敗,而這正是我們如何振作起來並有所作為。你的孩子總會有一所學校就讀,無論您的兒子或女兒去到哪裡,都希望他們在起跑線時帶領他們走上成功之路。

如欲查詢更多, 請瀏覽: https://www.winchestercollege.org/

Share
.vc_custom_1634282323959{background-color: #347c22 !important;}

Winchester College

Winchester College

Type of school

Boys school

The language of the school

Winchester is quirky and has its own vocabulary known as ‘notions’. Most of the notions which are still in use relate to school-specific activities, but some are more generic, e.g. ‘goive’ which is roughly the equivalent of ‘whatever’!

Schools’ Location

Winchester, Hampshire, England

The Curriculum

The boys study IGCSE courses in the lower school and Pre-U in the sixth form.

Division: Winchester’s unique liberal studies course runs throughout the school. In the lower years, boys explore a range of areas including history, using the Winchester archive and Warden’s Stables museum; art, participating in the Kenneth Clarke prize; and exploring philosophical and literary ideas. In the sixth form, boys explore philosophy, economics, history of art, music… anything which migh inspire them!

Number of pupils

685 pupils

Brandon’s view

For bright, inquisitive boys, Winchester is hard to beat. The Medieval campus is beautiful, and the teaching is truly inspiring. There are 30 different sports on offer in addition to houses and school drama, house music competitions, art displays and talks from visiting dignitaries; something for everyone!

Case Study: Studying at Winchester

This is an interview with P, who joined Brandon Learning Centre at the age of 9 and which won a place at Winchester.

Hey! I am first heading line feel free to change me

1: What was the big difference between lessons at Wincoll and your HK local school?

I felt that I was definitely more motivated by my teachers at Winchester to explore more about the topics I was interested in outside of the classroom. While the idea of researching myself seemed a bit daunting, being a boarding student meant that I had access to the tutors who supervised my house every night. These tutors were actual teachers, and it was very convenient to be able to ask them about my homework or something which I was curious about. The classes at Winchester were also more discussion-driven ( similar to university), meaning I was encouraged to ask questions and share my thoughts in class. Listening to my peers not only allowed me to learn more, but also made class less mundane.

Hey! I am first heading line feel free to change me

2. What advice would you give to someone boarding for the first time?

Don’t be afraid to step out of your comfort zone. Being in Winchester gave me the opportunity to try so many new activities which I didn’t know I liked, such as cross-country running, tennis, and athletics. The sooner you are willing to take that first step, the less time it will take for you to discover what you truly love doing.

Hey! I am first heading line feel free to change me

3. Was there anything surprising about studying in the UK?

So many things. The food took me sometime to get used to. British slang was very confusing at first. I also had a lot more freedom in terms of what I can do during my free time.

Hey! I am first heading line feel free to change me

4. What changes did you experience going to the US?

Perhaps more a college thing, but definitely how independent I have become during my time in NYU. This is partly because unlike in Winchester where my housemaster always kept an eye on me, there is really no one in college to supervise you or tell what to do. My time in the US was never boring because I have grown to become self-motivated, which in turn allowed me to take the initiative to try the things I wanted to do.

Hey! I am first heading line feel free to change me

5: Did your UK studies prepare you for the US?

I think being in boarding school in the UK made me more confident when meeting new people, and taught me how to better interact with others around you. I was also more far more outgoing and sociable that I was before studying at Winchester, because I was already comfortable with the idea of stepping out of my comfort zone and exploring new things.

Classes P took at Brandon...

Y5

Hey! I am first heading line feel free to change me

  • Public Speaking
  • UK English & Maths

Y6

Hey! I am first heading line feel free to change me

  • Interview Prep
  • UK English & Maths
  • French

Y7

Hey! I am first heading line feel free to change me

  • UK English, Maths & Science
  • French

Y8

Hey! I am first heading line feel free to change me

  • UK English, Maths & Science
  • Humanities
  • Essay Skills Workshop
  • French

Winchester College

This post is part of an occasional series based on meetings with Winchester College registrars.

Brandon had a visit from Mr Andrew Shedden, Registrar of Winchester College this week. Winchester is an extraordinary institution and, for a wonderful month a year over five years, I was blessed to be a part of it.

To summarise some of Mr Shedden’s points:

Who thrives at Winchester?
Academically curious, engaged boys who are willing to think beyond the classroom.

How does the school identify suitable students?
The first stage is the ISEB pre-test. Should your son do well in the pre-test, he will be invited to an interview during which he may be given a verbal, non-verbal and logic test and school reference will be requested.

What is a Winchester interview like?
Unexpected! The purpose of the interview is to try to see what makes the boys ‘tick’.

Wise words?
Boys need to be guided to develop resilience and independence. They should be willing to take risks and to learn how to cope with failure.

We at Brandon share this philosophy: we will all fail at some point in our lives, and it is how we pick ourselves up that makes a difference. There is a school for every child and, wherever your son or daughter goes to, hopefully their early training will lead them on the path to success.

For more information, kindly visit: https://www.winchestercollege.org/

 

HTML Snippets Powered By : XYZScripts.com